Popping the Question to your Bridesmaids: How the VOF girls did it.

Happy Monday from VOF! Well, it’s official, I finally asked W to be my MOH, as if she didn’t already know ;). Don’t worry, she said YES! Since W got engaged about 7 months before me, she obviously popped the question a long time before I got the chance. If you haven’t done it before, popping the question to your besties is kind of stressful (I can’t even imagine putting myself in S or M’s shoes when they proposed!) W and I both wanted to ask in creative ways that were meaningful and unique. Here is what we came up with!

W popped the question with none other than a ring pop! Gotta love the idea of using some childhood nostalgia. She created these ADORABLE boxes with a bunch of treats related to her wedding. Think mini bottles of champagne, nail polish in her wedding colors, paint chips with more color options, balloons for the celebration, and the “ring” to make it official, not to mention that the box itself has made the perfect jewelry box on my dresser ever since she asked. Here is the little notes she included with the perfect gift:

The big day

I’ve got my man, but I still need my girls! We don’t yet have a place or a date, but I know exactly who I’d like to be there –YOU! I’d be honored to have you be part of my big day.

The gals

Your job will be simple:

Keep my train out of any mud puddles (god forbid it rains in Portland!)

Feel beautiful

Have a great time (this is a requirement) and get the party started

Understand how much I appreciate you being part of our special day

With the (depressingly vast) distance between us, I know it’s nearly impossible for each of you to be involved each step of the way. That’s why I’d like you to be involved as much as you’d like to be.  Please don’t worry about showers or gifts, I know a “destination” wedding can be hard on the pocket books. We can tackle the Bachelorette Party when we get to it, at a time and place that works for everyone.

The dress

Your dress that is!

photo 13

After W put so much effort into asking, I had no choice but to step up my game! I didn’t want to copy her and had to come up with my own cute way of asking. I chose to go with a custom hanger from Etsy (Being engaged has made me even more obsessed with Etsy than before!). I can’t wait to see all my bridesmaids dresses hanging next to mine on these beauties 11 months from now (or yesterday to be exact). I included a cute little poem along with hangers that read:

The time has come for Steven and I to join our lives as one.

We look forward to our wedding day filled with family, friends, and fun.

The date is set for the 27th of September, 2014.

Our colors are Black, Pink and Gold with a touch of glimmer and sheen.

To make that day more special and create memories that will last,

There is one favor from you, my friend, that I would like to ask…

This hanger is for a very special dress.

Will you use it next year? Please say yes!

photo 03

photo 02

photo 01

How did you ask your bridesmaids to join your special day? We’d love to hear your ideas!

<3wc

Leave a Reply

